top of page
  • tianarobb27

Preparing for Bench Making

From deciding to make the bench to making it, I hard to find a plan for the bench and source all the equipment I might need. Here are the steps


1. Find a plan for the bench

I first found this video on youtube where he followed another bench plan. This one looked perfect as its long so can be used for social distancing and uses thick planks of wood which makes it sturdier for supporting mosaic as this can be heavy. It also looks relatively easy to assembly with limited equipment as he says he constructed in it just two hours after the wood was cut. It also looks like it will be easier to add the premade tiles and planks of wood neatly.


This is the pattern for the bench:

There are also lots of 3D renders on the pattern which is helpful to imagine how it would be.

2. Buy the wood and equipment

I made a shopping list for b and q. On the plan thy gave details of the planks but they are all in inches so had to change them to mm for b and q. They had everything apart from the lacquer but that is the last stage so I will wait till i'm finished to get that as i'm unsure if it's what i need anyway.


3. Figuring out plank lengths and cutting the wood.

I figured out the combinations of the lengths of plank to fit best into the 8 feet planks. This took quite a while and originally I thought that b and q would be able to cut the wood to the exact measurements but they weren't able to because the machine was broken and its the wrong type of wood. But pete had an electric saw so that was good and i was able to cut it in there garden. There were two different dimensions of the planks and I accidentally cut them for the opposite ones. This was so stressful when I realised and just decided to not think about it and deal with it as i make it and see how much it'll effect it.


4. Laying out wood

When I was back home I then just lay out all the wood in size order and marked them all with the sizes in inches this time.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page