top of page
  • tianarobb27

Bench Making

1.Layout base of seat for bench

Use 72" x 2 planks and 21"x5 planks and lay them across. This part was hard as some of the wood wasn't cut exactly, so I had to hand saw and sand them. The carpet was also uneven so it was hard to tell when it was even and level. I then glued them and used the long screws with two in each joint. After I screwed them in I realised that some of them really weren't the right length and there were some big gaps. So I went to the hardware shop and got some wood filler. It wasn't in a very useful tube so I squeezed it out into a piping bag and used that which was much easier. I then thought I should get a sander attachment for my drill and sand down a small piece of wood and wedge it between the larger gaps. So I went to machine mart across the road and got an electric sander. This worked well and now confident the bench is strong.

2. Adding the Legs and back

Added 31" x 2 legs with a leg height of 12 3/4". Used wood glue and long screws again

3.Attached the front legs

Glued and screwed 2 x 24" legs at the same height.

4. Adding arms

Added 2 x 25.5" arms.

5. Adding underneath cross section points.

Started by filing down 2 x 24" inch sections so they fit tightly and hammering into place of 5" from the floor. I then filed the longer plank down enough so it would also fit in. I screwed all the joints in, with the long screws.

6. Add the back support planks

Added 3 x 18 1/4 inch planks equally spaced along the back.


7. Adding 1x6 planks to create seating

I thought this part was going to be stressful as I had cut the length of the planks wrong. However this ended up not mattering as I used the ones that were long enough for the back as I felt this needed to be stronger. And then the ones I cut wrong managed to fit across between the seat supports. This did mean a lot more gluing, sawing, sanding and screwing. But it worked and I'm so relieved I didn't have to buy more planks. Because I'm going to mosaic over the bench, you won't be able to see the mistakes so that's good.



Here is the finished bench!

I managed to finish it all in one long day, which I feel very proud of. I'm pleased I did it then because it now can be put in the corner of my flat ready to be mosaiced which frees up some space. Its so hard working without a studio because everything was covered in sawdust and I've had a sore throat since, which I think is because of all of the fumes. But the bench is perfect and i'm so excited to see how it looks mosaiced!





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page